Home > Uncategorized > Isn’t it funny….

Isn’t it funny….

February 20, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Isn’t it funny how we associate a day out with having treats?

I decided to take my 3 year old to the zoo yesterday. Well it’s half term and the poor kid has only been as far as Asda.

I packed a picnic for us both. I took some ryvita’s and laughing cow extra light spreadable cheese and a muller light yogurt for me. So far so good. It’s not long before my 3 yr old (armed with her picnic in her lunchbox) decides she’s hungry, so we stop for a snack. I have two of the four ryvita’s I’ve got with me and was ok with that. I thought that if I took a picnic lunch for us, it would mean a) we didn’t have to pay sky high zoo resaurant prices and b) I wouldn’t have to see all the yummy things they were trying to sell to me.

The day was great, it did get very busy, but that’s half term for you. The problem was, there were so many people walking around eating! I was satisfied with the lunch I’d had and really didn’t need anything to eat, but there are ice-cream stalls, sweet kiosks, cafe’s, restaurants etc… and I started to want everything. I almost convinced myself that it would be ok to get some sweets and an ice-cream, because I was on a ‘day out’ and you treat yourself when you’re on a day out! This comes from being taken out as a kid. A day out always meant an ice-cream, or sweets, or lunch out or a cake laden picnic. Now I’m not saying this was wrong, because I loved our family days out with these treats, but it’s hard to un-brainwash myself. I didn’t need these treats, I just wanted them.

I didn’t give in… I bought my little girl a balloon instead of me pigging out and turning into a balloon. She was happy, my scales will be happy and we had a great day without being piggies!

  1. Kerry McHugh
    February 20, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    Aww well done you ! That is brilliant!!.. I know exactly what you mean about being on a day out, we do quite often associate good times with lots of lovely food, Christmas in our family for as long as I can remember has been alot about food and eating , as is Easter with a big dinner and a million easter eggs, trip to the cinema, popcorn, hotdogs , pic n mix, its endless! You should be proud of yourself though sticking with your ryvita and laughing cow light and muller light, i would be feeling really smug now if that was me..LOL
    love & hugs
    Kerry xx

  2. February 20, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    Well done! When I am on family outings when I am seriously trying to lose weight I always do 2 things. I eat a very light breakfast, like toast and milky coffee so that I have only used something like 150 calories at breakfast. Then when we are out on our outing, because we are totally poor, my husband and I pick one treat for the day, say going out for lunch or an ice cream or something. We know we only have enough money for the one treat and my husband and I always share… or when I am with just the kids we split an ice cream between the three of us. It makes it fun, because when we share we have a fun game we have always played where you can’t feed yourself, only the people you are sharing with. Gandhi said something to the effect of “If we all fed someone else, no one would go hungry”… and I think it’s true… We spend a lot of time thinking selfishly and it’s fun to have a treat that is shared in this way… we always come out of it happy and laughing… though the people watching probably think we are nuts 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

