Home > Uncategorized > Chicken and Leek Soup

Chicken and Leek Soup

February 8, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I am happy to report that despite me wanting to eat everything, I didn’t. I ignored the shouting shoulder angels and the good angel must have outshouted the bad angel because as the evening went on, I couldn’t hear them anymore. Stupid as it may sound, I’m pleased with myself that I didn’t give in to temptation. It was the first time since I started losing weight in October that I’d had to go through this silly battle of wills with food.. but I won!!!

On another note, have you ever realised just how much chicken you throw away thinking that you’ve taken it all off the bone? Rather a random question and the answer is more than likely to be no. I bought a medium sized chicken, had two meals off it and it left the carcass. (sorry mum if you read this I know you hate the word carcass… oops said it twice now in once sentence!). I put it into the slow cooker and left it for quite a long time and then took whatever chicken was left on it. It was really surprising how much was there by the time I’d stripped it to the bone! (am I putting you off yet?). I made a chicken and leek soup with it and it was absoultely lovely. I thought it would do my lunch for two days. Well it would have if my other half hadn’t tasted it. He finished the panful off…grrrrr.  It was soup heaven, if you’re a soup fan. I think I’ll make this one again.. tomorrow.. yum.. in fact, I want some right now… oh dear, off I go on the craving again, but at least this time it’s a craving for something healthy rather than stodge!

Have a good ‘rest of the weekend’.

  1. February 8, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    so, where is the recipe for this lovely soup? 🙂

  2. Kerry. M
    February 9, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Well done on not giving into those shouting shoulder devils , glad the other shoulder angels won :o) I’m sure your strong willpower will show tomorrow in class .
    See you tomorrow hun
    Love
    Kerry xx

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

